Rhett Running Blog at FastRunningBlog.Com http://Rhett.fastrunningblog.com/ Thu, 25 May 2017 10:12:59 FeedCreator 1.7.2 Wed, May 24, 2017 http://Rhett.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-24-2017.html <p>I ran slow to the gym, then 9 on the TM. The first 8 at 6:40 then the ninth at 6:30. Then ran slow home.&nbsp;</p> <p>Total run 13 miles.&nbsp;</p> Wed, 24 May 2017 06:00:00 Tue, May 23, 2017 http://Rhett.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-23-2017.html <p>7 easy on the trails. It&#39;s getting warm again.</p> Tue, 23 May 2017 06:00:00 Mon, May 22, 2017 http://Rhett.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-22-2017.html <p>Ran to the track and met Blake there. We started 400 m repeats with 400 m jog recoveries. The plan was to do 12, but after the 8th some school guy came out and said they were closing up the track for the morning, so I took the long way home to get my total miles up to 9 for the morning.</p> <p>8 x 400 m averaging 1:22</p> Mon, 22 May 2017 06:00:00 Sat, May 20, 2017 http://Rhett.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-20-2017.html <p>I didn&#39;t have a lot of time this morning. I had to drop of Cade, my 12 year old, for a dive. He is getting scuba certified. Then I did a quick 6 mile trail run before going back to pick him up. I ran a little faster than I should have on an easy day. HR was up to 145 for too much of the run.&nbsp;</p> Sat, 20 May 2017 06:00:00 Fri, May 19, 2017 http://Rhett.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-19-2017.html <p>15 easy miles on the trails keeping HR under 140.</p> <p>I saw the coolest thing when I was out running this morning.&nbsp; I heard this noise like a jet engine coming up over the crest and I looked up as saw this guy flying about 30 to 40 feet above the ground on a Fly Board.&nbsp; It&#39;s a little bigge than a skate board with jets.&nbsp; He flew over the crest slowed down, waved at me then took off again. I bet he was doing 50 to 60 mph.&nbsp; It was really cool to see. He made it look easy too.&nbsp;</p> <p>&nbsp;</p> <p>&nbsp;</p> Fri, 19 May 2017 06:00:00 Thu, May 18, 2017 http://Rhett.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-18-2017.html <p>7 really easy on the trails with HR under 130 most of the run.</p> Thu, 18 May 2017 06:00:00 Wed, May 17, 2017 http://Rhett.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-17-2017.html <p>I woke up feeling sluggish and still felt that way as I ran a couple miles to the gym. &nbsp;When I started running at 6:40 pace on the TM it felt pretty comfortable though and I kept running that pace for a full hour which is 9 miles. &nbsp;It actually felt pretty good even at the end. &nbsp;I then ran home which felt really tough even though I was going slow.&nbsp;</p> <p>Total run- 13 miles</p> Wed, 17 May 2017 06:00:00 Tue, May 16, 2017 http://Rhett.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-16-2017.html <p>7 nice and easy on the trails on a surpisingly cool morning for mid May in Havasu.</p> Tue, 16 May 2017 06:00:00 Mon, May 15, 2017 http://Rhett.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-15-2017.html <p>Ran to the track, then did 4 x 1200 m averaging 4:25 with 400 m slow recovery jogs, then ran home nice and easy. This workout had me intimidated before I did it, but it ended up not being as bad as I thought it would be.</p> <p>Total: 9 miles</p> Mon, 15 May 2017 06:00:00 Sat, May 13, 2017 http://Rhett.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-13-2017.html <p>8 really easy fun miles on the trails keeping HR under 130 most of the time.</p> Sat, 13 May 2017 06:00:00 Fri, May 12, 2017 http://Rhett.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-12-2017.html <p>13 miles on the trails. My legs were tired this morning so I cut my run a few miles shorter than planned.&nbsp;</p> Fri, 12 May 2017 06:00:00 Thu, May 11, 2017 http://Rhett.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-11-2017.html <p>7 easy on the trails.&nbsp; Keeping HR well under 140.</p> Thu, 11 May 2017 06:00:00 Wed, May 10, 2017 http://Rhett.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-10-2017.html <p>I ran to the gym easy, then did 7 miles at 6:40 pace on the TM, then ran easy home. I did have to work a bit on mile 7 but it felt good to hold a fast pace for that long.</p> <p>Total run 11 miles</p> Wed, 10 May 2017 06:00:00 Tue, May 09, 2017 http://Rhett.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-09-2017.html <p>Wow! It got cold.&nbsp; It was 60 degrees with a strong breeze and trying to rain when I ran this morning. I enjoyed 7 trail miles on a nice cool morning in May. That is unheard of around here.</p> Tue, 09 May 2017 06:00:00 Mon, May 08, 2017 http://Rhett.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-08-2017.html <p>I ran to the track, then did 6 x 800 m averaging 2:58 with 400 m recovery jogs really slow, then ran home easy for a total of 9 miles.</p> Mon, 08 May 2017 06:00:00 Sat, May 06, 2017 http://Rhett.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-06-2017.html <p>7 easy on the trails</p> Sat, 06 May 2017 06:00:00 Fri, May 05, 2017 http://Rhett.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-05-2017.html <p>16 slow miles but not easy because of the heat. I took 3 20 oz bottles and drained them all with a few miles still to go. Guess it is time to start taking the bladder with me. It gets a bit scary out there in the desert when the water runs low. I did run into my first rattle snake of the summer. It was nice enough to give me a welcome rattle when I was still about 10 yards away. It was up in strike pose and did not stop rattling until I was around it and gone. Did I mention, I hate snakes.&nbsp;</p> Fri, 05 May 2017 06:00:00 Thu, May 04, 2017 http://Rhett.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-04-2017.html <p>7 on the trails.&nbsp; Had fun.</p> Thu, 04 May 2017 06:00:00 Wed, May 03, 2017 http://Rhett.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-03-2017.html <p>I ran easy a couple miles to the gym then hopped on the TM and ran 6 miles at 6:40 pace, then ran back home easy for a total of 10 miles.</p> <p>We&#39;re supposed to get over 100 degrees today and up to 105 by Friday. I figure if I want to do a nice paced tempo run throughout the summer, I should do them on the TM. It gets way to hot to keep up that kind of pace for very long. &nbsp;</p> Wed, 03 May 2017 06:00:00 Tue, May 02, 2017 http://Rhett.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-02-2017.html <p>It was a nice cool morning around 69 degrees and I enjoyed a nice easy trail run for 7 miles.&nbsp; Soon it is going to be really hot around here.&nbsp; I&#39;m not looking forward to that.</p> Tue, 02 May 2017 06:00:00 Mon, May 01, 2017 http://Rhett.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-01-2017.html <p>I&#39;ve decided that if I ever want to run a fast marathon again, I&#39;ve got to start doing some speed work again.&nbsp; So, I got started with some 400m repeats this morning.&nbsp; I ran to the middle school track then did 10 x 400m repeats with 400 m recovery jogs in between. I averaged 1:25 for the repeats. Then, I ran home easy.</p> <p>Total run 9 miles</p> Mon, 01 May 2017 06:00:00 Wed, Apr 26, 2017 http://Rhett.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-26-2017.html <p>10 trails</p> <p>I&#39;ll be in Philadelphia with my oldest son at the NFL draft the rest of the week. &nbsp;I won&#39;t get any more running in until Monday.</p> Wed, 26 Apr 2017 06:00:00 Tue, Apr 25, 2017 http://Rhett.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-25-2017.html <p>8 easy</p> Tue, 25 Apr 2017 06:00:00 Mon, Apr 24, 2017 http://Rhett.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-24-2017.html <p>7 trails</p> Mon, 24 Apr 2017 06:00:00