Rhett Running Blog at FastRunningBlog.Com http://Rhett.fastrunningblog.com/ Wed, 23 Aug 2017 05:46:04 FeedCreator 1.7.2 Tue, Aug 22, 2017 http://Rhett.fastrunningblog.com/blog-08-22-2017.html <p>10 nice and slow on the trails</p> Tue, 22 Aug 2017 06:00:00 Mon, Aug 21, 2017 http://Rhett.fastrunningblog.com/blog-08-21-2017.html <p>5 am,&nbsp;92 degrees and the humidity was back :(</p> <p>I ran to the track and met up with Blake.&nbsp;</p> <p>5 x 1600 m with 800 m recovery jog.&nbsp;</p> <p>I did my first 4 all sub 6, averaging 5:56 and then my legs tied up on me during the last half of the fifth one and I ran a 6:10.&nbsp;</p> <p>Then I ran home nice and easy for a total of 12 miles.&nbsp;</p> Mon, 21 Aug 2017 06:00:00 Sat, Aug 19, 2017 http://Rhett.fastrunningblog.com/blog-08-19-2017.html <p>I started later than normal this morning so by the time I was done , it was 100*.&nbsp;</p> <p>10 nice and slow on the trails. Legs were tired from yesterday&#39;s run but not sore at all.&nbsp;</p> Sat, 19 Aug 2017 06:00:00 Fri, Aug 18, 2017 http://Rhett.fastrunningblog.com/blog-08-18-2017.html <p>&nbsp;</p> <p>Wih the weather being back in the 80s in the early morning, Blake and I decided to take our long run outside for the first time in a while. I got in 21 miles nice and easy. &nbsp;By the end of the run it was up in the 90s and it wore on Blake some so he cut his run a little shorter &nbsp;</p> <p>&nbsp;</p> Fri, 18 Aug 2017 06:00:00 Thu, Aug 17, 2017 http://Rhett.fastrunningblog.com/blog-08-17-2017.html <p>10 easy on the trails, nice and slow</p> Thu, 17 Aug 2017 06:00:00 Wed, Aug 16, 2017 http://Rhett.fastrunningblog.com/blog-08-16-2017.html <p>I had an early work meeting in Kingman this morning which is a little over an hour from my house, so I got up at 4:00 to get my run in.&nbsp;</p> <p>TM</p> <p>1 mile warm up</p> <p>9 miles at 6:35 pace</p> <p>1 mile cool down</p> <p>It felt good to be able to do that run at that pace again for the first time in about a month.&nbsp; Maybe my legs are coming back.</p> Wed, 16 Aug 2017 06:00:00 Tue, Aug 15, 2017 http://Rhett.fastrunningblog.com/blog-08-15-2017.html <p>Today was the first morning since May that the temperature was below 90! &nbsp;And, it was all the way down at 84 with only 5% humidity. It was so nice. We&#39;re even supposed to have a few more days with temps in the 80s for our low. I&#39;m pumped.&nbsp;</p> <p>Anyways, I celebrated with 10 easy on the trails.&nbsp;</p> Tue, 15 Aug 2017 06:00:00 Mon, Aug 14, 2017 http://Rhett.fastrunningblog.com/blog-08-14-2017.html <p>Blake had to be at work early this morning so I was on my own for speed work. After running to the track, I did 4 x 1 mile with half mile recovery jog. My legs didn&#39;t have the turnover it did before I went on vacation a few weeks ago, so I was disappointingly slow especially after the first one. Anyways I stuck with it and did all 4, then ran home easy for a total of 10 miles.&nbsp;</p> Mon, 14 Aug 2017 06:00:00 Sat, Aug 12, 2017 http://Rhett.fastrunningblog.com/blog-08-12-2017.html <p>Chase is a Cubs fan and they were playing the Diamondbacks last night so we went to the game. We live 3 hours from Phoenix. &nbsp;Of course he wanted to stay till the end. Since it was late and I wanted to stay awake I took a 5 Hour Energy as we were about to head home. Let me tell&nbsp;you, it worked. We got home&nbsp;at 1:30 and I was wide awake. I layed&nbsp;in bed and read until I got drowsy and fell asleep about 2:30. Then I woke back up at 4:30 feeling completely awake. I layed there and tried to go back to sleep, but gave up at 5:15 and headed to the gym for a run.&nbsp;</p> <p>TM- 5 miles at 7mph then got bored with that and started a progression run over the next 5 miles, ending at 10mph.&nbsp;</p> <p>Now I&#39;m home and showered and still feeling wired. I&#39;m sure I will crash soon and get a few hour nap.&nbsp;</p> <p>Oh and the Cubs won.&nbsp;</p> Sat, 12 Aug 2017 06:00:00 Fri, Aug 11, 2017 http://Rhett.fastrunningblog.com/blog-08-11-2017.html <p>21 easy on the TM at 7.0 mph.&nbsp;</p> Fri, 11 Aug 2017 06:00:00 Thu, Aug 10, 2017 http://Rhett.fastrunningblog.com/blog-08-10-2017.html <p>8 easy on the trails.&nbsp;</p> Thu, 10 Aug 2017 06:00:00 Wed, Aug 09, 2017 http://Rhett.fastrunningblog.com/blog-08-09-2017.html <p>TM.&nbsp;</p> <p>1 mile warmup, 7 at 6:35 pace, 2 cool down.&nbsp;</p> <p>I am getting close to being back to where I was was before I got sick. Hopefully next week.&nbsp;</p> Wed, 09 Aug 2017 06:00:00 Tue, Aug 08, 2017 http://Rhett.fastrunningblog.com/blog-08-08-2017.html <p>8 easy on the trails focusing on quick stride rate. Had a little spring in my step again this morning for the first time in a few weeks.&nbsp;</p> Tue, 08 Aug 2017 06:00:00 Mon, Aug 07, 2017 http://Rhett.fastrunningblog.com/blog-08-07-2017.html <p>I ran to the track this morning and found the gate locked, so when Blake showed up, he drove us down to the island (the only flat place to run in Havasu), and we ran on the bike path.&nbsp; We did some warm up and then 3 x 1 mile and then coool down. I was way slower today than I have been lately doing mile repeats on the track.&nbsp; I was in the low 6:20s.&nbsp; I definitely prefer doing my speed work on the track where I can guage my time and distance better.</p> <p>Total run:&nbsp; 8 miles</p> Mon, 07 Aug 2017 06:00:00 Sat, Aug 05, 2017 http://Rhett.fastrunningblog.com/blog-08-05-2017.html <p>10 more on the TM this afternoon after work.&nbsp;</p> Sat, 05 Aug 2017 06:00:00 Fri, Aug 04, 2017 http://Rhett.fastrunningblog.com/blog-08-04-2017.html <p>Still lethargic, but improving.&nbsp;</p> <p>17 easy miles on the TM nice and slow at 8:35 pace.</p> Fri, 04 Aug 2017 06:00:00 Thu, Aug 03, 2017 http://Rhett.fastrunningblog.com/blog-08-03-2017.html <p>6 on the trails.&nbsp; No energy today.&nbsp; I&#39;m going to be se happy when I get back to feeling like my normal self.&nbsp; If running always felt like it has the last couple weeks, I&#39;d give it up.</p> Thu, 03 Aug 2017 06:00:00 Wed, Aug 02, 2017 http://Rhett.fastrunningblog.com/blog-08-02-2017.html <p>Wow it is humid...for here.&nbsp;</p> <p>TM 1 mile warm up, 5 at 6:35 pace, 2 cool down</p> <p>Obviously I am still not 100% because that was a long as I could hold that pace.&nbsp; I did feel a little more energetic this morning though.&nbsp; And I was a big sweaty mess when I was done. Gross!</p> Wed, 02 Aug 2017 06:00:00 Tue, Aug 01, 2017 http://Rhett.fastrunningblog.com/blog-08-01-2017.html <p>After 3 rest days, (I did work yesterday but I pretty much slept all weekend.) I felt good enough to run again this morning. I was not 100%. I had to walk some of the hills that I usually run, but I got in 8 slow miles on the trails.&nbsp;</p> Tue, 01 Aug 2017 06:00:00 Fri, Jul 28, 2017 http://Rhett.fastrunningblog.com/blog-07-28-2017.html <p>Actually felt worse today. Now it&#39;s in my lungs and I&#39;m coughing and feeling weak and light headed.</p> <p>I did manage to run 10 really easy miles in the TM though.</p> Fri, 28 Jul 2017 06:00:00 Thu, Jul 27, 2017 http://Rhett.fastrunningblog.com/blog-07-27-2017.html <p>6 on the trails. Still not 100%</p> Thu, 27 Jul 2017 06:00:00 Wed, Jul 26, 2017 http://Rhett.fastrunningblog.com/blog-07-26-2017.html <p>Still not feeling great.</p> <p>Ran on the TM:&nbsp; 1 warm up, 5 @ 6:35 pace, 2 cool down</p> <p>Usually I do 9 at tempo pace but feeling ill still 5 was all I could handle today.</p> Wed, 26 Jul 2017 06:00:00 Tue, Jul 25, 2017 http://Rhett.fastrunningblog.com/blog-07-25-2017.html <p>I still feel terrible. I did attempt a run though.&nbsp; 4 miles on the trails. I was VERY weak and tired though.&nbsp; Hopefully I kick this thing quickly.</p> Tue, 25 Jul 2017 06:00:00 Mon, Jul 24, 2017 http://Rhett.fastrunningblog.com/blog-07-24-2017.html <p>After a recovery week with lots of beach activities, I was excited to get up and run in my new Saucony Kinavara 8s I picked up while in San Diego. Unfortunately I started with a fever Saturday night and spent yesterday not feeling well. I slept better last night and didn&#39;t feel too bad this morning so I tried my planned 10 x 800 m speed work.&nbsp;</p> <p>I ran to the track and then started. I could not keep up my normal pace for the first 2 800s and then fell way off normal on my third and was feeling lightheaded, so I called it a day and ran home slowly for a total run of 6 miles.&nbsp;</p> <p>Hopefully I&#39;ll be feeling better tomorrow. Now I have to go survive work after being gone for a week.&nbsp;</p> Mon, 24 Jul 2017 06:00:00