Rhett Running Blog at FastRunningBlog.Com http://Rhett.fastrunningblog.com/ Thu, 18 Apr 2019 15:17:57 FeedCreator 1.7.2 Thu, Apr 18, 2019 http://Rhett.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-18-2019.html <p>7 recovery miles then core.&nbsp;</p> Thu, 18 Apr 2019 06:00:00 Wed, Apr 17, 2019 http://Rhett.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-17-2019.html <p>5.5 miles uphill at a comfortable pace</p> <p>6.6 miles downhill at mp</p> <p>2 mile uphill cool down</p> <p>All felt nice and comfortable.&nbsp; 10 days till the Mt. Charelston Marathon.</p> Wed, 17 Apr 2019 06:00:00 Tue, Apr 16, 2019 http://Rhett.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-16-2019.html <p>7 recovery miles then core.</p> <p>I needed the recovery run&nbsp;to get my body back on track after the crazy weekend at the Masters. Hopefully I will feel more like myself tomorrow.</p> Tue, 16 Apr 2019 06:00:00 Mon, Apr 15, 2019 http://Rhett.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-15-2019.html <p>Week 1 of 2 week taper</p> <p>I haven&#39;t run since Thursday, but I bet I walked 15 miles between Saturday and Sunday at The Masters.&nbsp; It was amazing to be there and witness history in person, but I didn&#39;t get home until 4:30 this morning and I have a full day a patients scheduled.&nbsp; I definitely won&#39;t get my next run in until tomorrow.&nbsp; It&#39;s a good thing I&#39;m tapering right now.</p> <p>Good luck to the Boston Marathoners today!!!</p> Mon, 15 Apr 2019 06:00:00 Thu, Apr 11, 2019 http://Rhett.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-11-2019.html <p>7 recovery miles then core.</p> <p>I&#39;m heading to the Masters tomorrow&nbsp;morning!</p> Thu, 11 Apr 2019 06:00:00 Wed, Apr 10, 2019 http://Rhett.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-10-2019.html <p>Fast finish long run #6/ Race dress rehersal</p> <p>5.5 mile at a comfortable effort uphill</p> <p>6.5 miles at mp downhill.&nbsp; Felt super easy and did a pretty good job of pacing.</p> <p>4 miles back up at easy effort.</p> <p>5 miles down at a hard effort...AP 6:10.&nbsp; Dry heaved at the end.</p> <p>2 mile nice a slow back up to cool down.&nbsp; Stomach felt better afte that.</p> <p>Total run 23 miles.</p> <p>I was hoping to get in one final good run this Saturday before starting my taper, but I have to catch an early morning flight out of Vegas Friday morning to Augusta, GA and I won&#39;t be home until early Monday morning, so unless I get in a little run Satruday morning before heading to the Masters, my taper starts now.</p> Wed, 10 Apr 2019 06:00:00 Tue, Apr 09, 2019 http://Rhett.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-09-2019.html <p>7 recovery miles then core</p> Tue, 09 Apr 2019 06:00:00 Mon, Apr 08, 2019 http://Rhett.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-08-2019.html <p>Week 3 of the 3rd and final 3 week block!</p> <p>12 easy miles...AP 8:49, followed by strides and cool down for a total of 13 miles.</p> Mon, 08 Apr 2019 06:00:00 Sat, Apr 06, 2019 http://Rhett.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-06-2019.html <p>1 mile warm up&nbsp;</p> <p>4 x 2 mile repeats at 6:27 with 1/2 mile recovery&nbsp;</p> <p>1 mile cool down&nbsp;</p> <p>Total 12 mile, &nbsp;80 miles this week &nbsp;</p> <p>I felt very comfortable all the way through this run.&nbsp;</p> Sat, 06 Apr 2019 06:00:00 Fri, Apr 05, 2019 http://Rhett.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-05-2019.html <p>11 miles nice and easly...AP 9:05 then strides and cool down.</p> <p>Total 12 miles</p> Fri, 05 Apr 2019 06:00:00 Thu, Apr 04, 2019 http://Rhett.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-04-2019.html <p>10 recovery miles then core</p> Thu, 04 Apr 2019 06:00:00 Wed, Apr 03, 2019 http://Rhett.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-03-2019.html <p>Long Slow Run # 3...last one!</p> <p>23 miles nice and easy...AP 8:46</p> Wed, 03 Apr 2019 06:00:00 Tue, Apr 02, 2019 http://Rhett.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-02-2019.html <p>10 recovery miles then core</p> Tue, 02 Apr 2019 06:00:00 Mon, Apr 01, 2019 http://Rhett.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-01-2019.html <p>Week 2 of 3rd 3 week training block.</p> <p>12 miles at easy pace, AP 8:35 followed by strides and cool down for another mile.</p> <p>13 miles total.</p> <p>This week my focus is long, slow running. &nbsp;I can&#39;t believe it is April. &nbsp;It&#39;s race month!</p> <p>&nbsp;</p> Mon, 01 Apr 2019 06:00:00 Sat, Mar 30, 2019 http://Rhett.fastrunningblog.com/blog-03-30-2019.html <p>Mile repeats. This is my last time for this marathon.&nbsp;</p> <p>2 mile warm up</p> <p>6 x 1 mile at 6:00 pace with 1/2 mile recovery jogs&nbsp;</p> <p>1 mile cool down&nbsp;</p> <p>Total 12 miles &nbsp;</p> <p>&nbsp;</p> Sat, 30 Mar 2019 06:00:00 Fri, Mar 29, 2019 http://Rhett.fastrunningblog.com/blog-03-29-2019.html <p>I ran to work this morning the long way...5 miles, &nbsp;then ran home after work the short way...3 miles.&nbsp;</p> Fri, 29 Mar 2019 06:00:00 Thu, Mar 28, 2019 http://Rhett.fastrunningblog.com/blog-03-28-2019.html <p>7 miles recovery then core.</p> Thu, 28 Mar 2019 06:00:00 Wed, Mar 27, 2019 http://Rhett.fastrunningblog.com/blog-03-27-2019.html <p>Fast finish long run #5</p> <p>5 1/2 miles up hill at easy effort</p> <p>6 1/2 miles mostly downhill except the last 3/4 mile at mp... ended up being 7 seconds per mile faster than mp</p> <p>3 miles up hill easy effort</p> <p>4 miles downhill at hard effort... AP 6:18.&nbsp; I didn&#39;t have it in my legs to push for a really fast last mile like I usually do.</p> <p>2 mile cool down back up hill.</p> <p>Total 21 miles</p> <p>I&#39;ll do one more fast finish long run in 2 weeks.</p> Wed, 27 Mar 2019 06:00:00 Tue, Mar 26, 2019 http://Rhett.fastrunningblog.com/blog-03-26-2019.html <p>I just didn&#39;t feel like running today so I did core work and sat in the hot tub.</p> <p>It&#39;s probably not a good sign that I didn&#39;t feel like running and I&#39;m on the most important block of my marathon training, but I did listen to my body and didn&#39;t force it.&nbsp; Hopefully I&#39;ll be back looking forward to my run tomorrow.</p> Tue, 26 Mar 2019 06:00:00 Mon, Mar 25, 2019 http://Rhett.fastrunningblog.com/blog-03-25-2019.html <p>Week 1 of 3rd and final 3&nbsp;week training block</p> <p>11 easy miles, AP 8:57, then strides and cool down for a total of 12 miles.&nbsp;</p> Mon, 25 Mar 2019 06:00:00 Sat, Mar 23, 2019 http://Rhett.fastrunningblog.com/blog-03-23-2019.html <p>Like my last recovery week I finished this one up with some mp repeats.&nbsp;</p> <p>1 mile warm up</p> <p>4 x 3 miles at mp with 1/2 mile recovery jogs</p> <p>Total 15 miles&nbsp;</p> <p>Legs felt great. I&rsquo;m ready to take on my final 3 week training block.&nbsp;</p> Sat, 23 Mar 2019 06:00:00 Fri, Mar 22, 2019 http://Rhett.fastrunningblog.com/blog-03-22-2019.html <p>I decided to maximize my recovery week and just hot tub this morning instead of any exercise. It felt nice.&nbsp;</p> Fri, 22 Mar 2019 06:00:00 Thu, Mar 21, 2019 http://Rhett.fastrunningblog.com/blog-03-21-2019.html <p>4 recovery miles then core.&nbsp;</p> Thu, 21 Mar 2019 06:00:00 Wed, Mar 20, 2019 http://Rhett.fastrunningblog.com/blog-03-20-2019.html <p>11 very slow but not so easy miles...AP 9:25</p> <p>My legs are still crazy tired from my ski trip. &nbsp;Good thing I&#39;m on a recovery week. I really need it.</p> Wed, 20 Mar 2019 06:00:00 Tue, Mar 19, 2019 http://Rhett.fastrunningblog.com/blog-03-19-2019.html <p>Core work then sat in the hot tub for a while. &nbsp;It felt goooooood.</p> Tue, 19 Mar 2019 06:00:00 Mon, Mar 18, 2019 http://Rhett.fastrunningblog.com/blog-03-18-2019.html <p>Recovery week #2</p> <p>I didn&rsquo;t do my speed work last week because I was skiing Thursday, Friday, and Saturday, so I started this week off with a short version of speed work even though this is &nbsp;my recovery week.&nbsp;</p> <p>2 mile mile warm up</p> <p>3 x 1 mile at 5:56 pace with 1/2 mile recovery&nbsp;</p> <p>Total 7 miles&nbsp;</p> <p>This seemed more difficult than it should have but I guess that is what happens when you ski hard, eat horribly and sleep poorly for a few days. Now I can spend the rest of the week really recovering and getting my body and mind&nbsp;ready for my final 3 week training block before taper begins.&nbsp;</p> Mon, 18 Mar 2019 06:00:00