Rhett Running Blog at FastRunningBlog.Com http://Rhett.fastrunningblog.com/ Sun, 17 Dec 2017 12:21:51 FeedCreator 1.7.2 Fri, Dec 15, 2017 http://Rhett.fastrunningblog.com/blog-12-15-2017.html <p>6 with Blake on the trails. We ran significantly faster than normal as I was working off some adrenaline from a work meeting I just had.&nbsp;</p> Fri, 15 Dec 2017 07:00:00 Wed, Dec 13, 2017 http://Rhett.fastrunningblog.com/blog-12-13-2017.html <p>8 on the trails on a beautiful sunny calm and cool morning.&nbsp;</p> Wed, 13 Dec 2017 07:00:00 Wed, Dec 06, 2017 http://Rhett.fastrunningblog.com/blog-12-06-2017.html <p>10 nice and slow.&nbsp;</p> <p>I had a bit of a cold the last few days and it had been cold and windy so I just stayed in n bed the last few days, and it felt good.&nbsp;</p> Wed, 06 Dec 2017 07:00:00 Fri, Dec 01, 2017 http://Rhett.fastrunningblog.com/blog-12-01-2017.html <p>10 easy on the trails with Blake. &nbsp;</p> Fri, 01 Dec 2017 07:00:00 Thu, Nov 30, 2017 http://Rhett.fastrunningblog.com/blog-11-30-2017.html <p>4 miles at a quicker pace than usual on the trails.&nbsp; Felt good to let the legs run.</p> Thu, 30 Nov 2017 07:00:00 Wed, Nov 29, 2017 http://Rhett.fastrunningblog.com/blog-11-29-2017.html <p>This morning I didn&#39;t feel like running so I spent an hour doing some core work, light weights and some jump roping. It was nice doing something a little differnt, but still feeling like I got in some good exercise.&nbsp;</p> Wed, 29 Nov 2017 07:00:00 Tue, Nov 28, 2017 http://Rhett.fastrunningblog.com/blog-11-28-2017.html <p>Same run as yesterday morning but without falling.&nbsp; Running in the dark will be my new normal for a few months I guess.&nbsp; Luckily I have an Ultraspire lumens 600 light belt that works pretty well even on the trails.</p> <p>6 miles.<br /> &nbsp;</p> Tue, 28 Nov 2017 07:00:00 Mon, Nov 27, 2017 http://Rhett.fastrunningblog.com/blog-11-27-2017.html <p>6 on the trails in the dark. I did trip and go down once and scratched up my hand and leg a bit.</p> Mon, 27 Nov 2017 07:00:00 Sat, Nov 25, 2017 http://Rhett.fastrunningblog.com/blog-11-25-2017.html <p>8 miles on another tough mountain trail&nbsp;run. This time only 2200 feet of climbing though.&nbsp;</p> Sat, 25 Nov 2017 07:00:00 Fri, Nov 24, 2017 http://Rhett.fastrunningblog.com/blog-11-24-2017.html <p>4 easy on the trails above my sisters house.&nbsp;</p> Fri, 24 Nov 2017 07:00:00 Thu, Nov 23, 2017 http://Rhett.fastrunningblog.com/blog-11-23-2017.html <p>I turned in my Garmin during our turkey bowl football game. Ended up doing 2 miles of mostly sprints.&nbsp;</p> Thu, 23 Nov 2017 07:00:00 Wed, Nov 22, 2017 http://Rhett.fastrunningblog.com/blog-11-22-2017.html <p>Im visiting my sister for thanksgiving in Utah. I from her house to the top of Mt. Baldy. It was only 4 miles but it was a 3600 foot climb so took 1 hour 26 minuets to get up. Then the run down was no picnic. My quads were jello by the time I got down.&nbsp;</p> <p>Happy Thanksgiving everyone.&nbsp;</p> Wed, 22 Nov 2017 07:00:00 Mon, Nov 20, 2017 http://Rhett.fastrunningblog.com/blog-11-20-2017.html <p>4 fun on the trails.&nbsp;</p> Mon, 20 Nov 2017 07:00:00 Sat, Nov 18, 2017 http://Rhett.fastrunningblog.com/blog-11-18-2017.html <p>2017 Lake Havasu Turkey Trot</p> <p>Today was the annual turkey trot in Lake Havasu City. &nbsp;All week long the weather has been beautiful, cool and no wind. &nbsp;This morning we woke up to cool and crazy windy. &nbsp;It&#39;s too bad becasue it probably kept a bunch of people home. &nbsp;Anyways, I showed up and got signed in and bib on, then headed out for a 2 mile warm up with some strides thrown in. &nbsp;Even though the numbers were fewer than normal, I noticed a handfull of faster runners that showed up this year. &nbsp;A few of them are from out of town, but come to this race often. &nbsp;Dan was there as usual. He always wins and today was no exception. &nbsp;One other runner (last name of Ryan)&nbsp;from out of town I knew I could not beat, so the goal was 3rd place but there were a few other runners there that have beaten me before.</p> <p>The race started into the wind for the first third of a mile then turned with the wind at our backs until the end of the second mile. &nbsp;I started off in 4th place. &nbsp;Dan was way out ahead then Ryan, then a fast local kid who really took off after we made the turn to have the wind at our backs. &nbsp;I hit the first mile in 5:52 and felt really good. &nbsp;Third place was maybe 20 yards ahead of me and pulling away. &nbsp;Then he suddenly started coming back to me as did Ryan. &nbsp;I kept running what felt comfortable and passed third place dude without changing my pace&nbsp;a little more than half mile into the second mile. &nbsp;When I went by him I could tell he was done. &nbsp;I was now closing on Ryan which is crazy becasue he usually beats me by a good 2 minutes. &nbsp;Mile 2 clicked off in 5:51 and I was still feeling good. &nbsp;Then we turned straight back into the strong wind for the last 1.1 miles and it felt&nbsp;like hitting wall. &nbsp;I was still closing on Ryan though and this gave me hope. &nbsp;About a half mile into the third mile I was within about 10 yards of Ryan. &nbsp;He heard me back there though and kicked it up a notch. &nbsp;I was giving it everything I had but I just couldn&#39;t find another gear to speed up with him. &nbsp;He gradually pulled back away from me. &nbsp;I knew I was on pace to have a good time though and I kept pushing as hard as I could to the finish. &nbsp;There are a few little hills at the end and combined with that strong head wind, my legs were tying up. Mile 3 was 6:08. Then I just had that final uphill 0.1 miles to go and&nbsp;mercifully I crossed the finish line exhausted, but with a new PR of 18:22!!! It was a 1 second PR, but at the age of 46, I&#39;ll take it.</p> <p>So I finished 3rd overall and 2nd in my AG and with a new PR. &nbsp;I guess, even though for the last 3 weeks I have been lazy with my running and terrible with my eating (I gained 5 lbs.), all that long running training for my 100K DNF paid off today. &nbsp;</p> Sat, 18 Nov 2017 07:00:00 Fri, Nov 17, 2017 http://Rhett.fastrunningblog.com/blog-11-17-2017.html <p>3 nice and easy.</p> Fri, 17 Nov 2017 07:00:00 Thu, Nov 16, 2017 http://Rhett.fastrunningblog.com/blog-11-16-2017.html <p>Same as Tuesday but faster.<br /> &nbsp;</p> Thu, 16 Nov 2017 07:00:00 Wed, Nov 15, 2017 http://Rhett.fastrunningblog.com/blog-11-15-2017.html <p>3 easy miles. Just enough to wake up.&nbsp;</p> Wed, 15 Nov 2017 07:00:00