Rhett Running Blog at FastRunningBlog.Com http://Rhett.fastrunningblog.com/ Wed, 12 Dec 2018 13:08:39 FeedCreator 1.7.2 Wed, Dec 12, 2018 http://Rhett.fastrunningblog.com/blog-12-12-2018.html <p>20 on the trails nice and easy, then core.</p> Wed, 12 Dec 2018 07:00:00 Tue, Dec 11, 2018 http://Rhett.fastrunningblog.com/blog-12-11-2018.html <p>14 more with about 4 of that on trails. Then core.</p> Tue, 11 Dec 2018 07:00:00 Mon, Dec 10, 2018 http://Rhett.fastrunningblog.com/blog-12-10-2018.html <p>14 miles at an easy pace with 1223 ft elevation gain.&nbsp; Then core.</p> <p>&nbsp;</p> Mon, 10 Dec 2018 07:00:00 Sat, Dec 08, 2018 http://Rhett.fastrunningblog.com/blog-12-08-2018.html <p>My wife and I spent last night in Vegas celebrating our 25th anniversary and didn&rsquo;t get back till about 4 this afternoon. We had a Christmas party to be at at 6:00 so I squeezed in a run in between. I was hoping to get in 13 miles today but only had time for 10.&nbsp;</p> Sat, 08 Dec 2018 07:00:00 Fri, Dec 07, 2018 http://Rhett.fastrunningblog.com/blog-12-07-2018.html <p>Another 13 then core. Not sure when I&rsquo;ll find time to run tomorrow but I&rsquo;ll do my best.&nbsp;</p> Fri, 07 Dec 2018 07:00:00 Thu, Dec 06, 2018 http://Rhett.fastrunningblog.com/blog-12-06-2018.html <p>13 miles on a beautiful morning. Then core.&nbsp;</p> Thu, 06 Dec 2018 07:00:00 Wed, Dec 05, 2018 http://Rhett.fastrunningblog.com/blog-12-05-2018.html <p>17 miles out on the trails as the sun came up.&nbsp; Then core.</p> Wed, 05 Dec 2018 07:00:00 Tue, Dec 04, 2018 http://Rhett.fastrunningblog.com/blog-12-04-2018.html <p>12 miles at a very comfortable pace then core.</p> Tue, 04 Dec 2018 07:00:00 Mon, Dec 03, 2018 http://Rhett.fastrunningblog.com/blog-12-03-2018.html <p>12 miles... 6&nbsp;up then 6 down with 1093 feet elevation gain.</p> <p>Then core.</p> Mon, 03 Dec 2018 07:00:00 Sat, Dec 01, 2018 http://Rhett.fastrunningblog.com/blog-12-01-2018.html <p>I finally found time to run around 6 pm so I did it on the TM while watching football.&nbsp;</p> <p>10 miles at a comfortable pace.&nbsp;</p> Sat, 01 Dec 2018 07:00:00 Fri, Nov 30, 2018 http://Rhett.fastrunningblog.com/blog-11-30-2018.html <p>10 on the trails then core.&nbsp;</p> Fri, 30 Nov 2018 07:00:00 Thu, Nov 29, 2018 http://Rhett.fastrunningblog.com/blog-11-29-2018.html <p>10 more at a nice slow pace then core.</p> Thu, 29 Nov 2018 07:00:00 Wed, Nov 28, 2018 http://Rhett.fastrunningblog.com/blog-11-28-2018.html <p>I had a couple hours to run this morning so o went out and enjoyed the trails.&nbsp;</p> <p>13 miles then core.&nbsp;</p> Wed, 28 Nov 2018 07:00:00 Tue, Nov 27, 2018 http://Rhett.fastrunningblog.com/blog-11-27-2018.html <p>10 easy then core</p> Tue, 27 Nov 2018 07:00:00 Mon, Nov 26, 2018 http://Rhett.fastrunningblog.com/blog-11-26-2018.html <p>It&#39;s time to get serious about logging miles.</p> <p>10 nice and easy then core</p> Mon, 26 Nov 2018 07:00:00 Sat, Nov 24, 2018 http://Rhett.fastrunningblog.com/blog-11-24-2018.html <p>8 mile trail run. This was actually yesterday&rsquo;s run and the one I posted on yesterday was today&rsquo;s.&nbsp;</p> Sat, 24 Nov 2018 07:00:00 Fri, Nov 23, 2018 http://Rhett.fastrunningblog.com/blog-11-23-2018.html <p>Cold, breezy, and snow flurries all day so I did a TM run.&nbsp;</p> <p>5 miles</p> Fri, 23 Nov 2018 07:00:00 Thu, Nov 22, 2018 http://Rhett.fastrunningblog.com/blog-11-22-2018.html <p>I survived the annual family thanksgiving day turkey bowl without pulling a hammy this year so I&rsquo;ll count that as a victory and 3 miles running. I hope everyone enjoyed a wonderful day with their loved ones.&nbsp;</p> Thu, 22 Nov 2018 07:00:00 Wed, Nov 21, 2018 http://Rhett.fastrunningblog.com/blog-11-21-2018.html <p>I&rsquo;m up in Utah for Thanksgiving so I got out and ran the mountain trails this morning.&nbsp;</p> <p>9 miles with 2000 feet of elevation gain.&nbsp;</p> Wed, 21 Nov 2018 07:00:00 Sat, Nov 17, 2018 http://Rhett.fastrunningblog.com/blog-11-17-2018.html <p>Today was the annual 5k Turkey Trot here I Lake Havasu City. Our high school cross country runners showed up this year to give us a faster field than usual. Dan of course led the race from the start and ended up finishing around 16:30. He&rsquo;s only 3 years younger than me and is still blazing fast. One of the cross country kids did his best to hang with him and finished about a minute behind him. Then there was the next group which I was in. I managed to pass them all but one who I was trying to kick and catch at the end but just didn&rsquo;t have it today. It was nice being able to run with other runners that pushed me.</p> <p>I ended up finishing in 18:59 which I was both happy about and a bit disappointed in. I was happy to be under 19 but was hoping to challenge my PR of 18:22 which I set last year in this race. I&rsquo;m guess with only two weeks since running a hard marathon, I didn&rsquo;t fully have my legs back yet. All I n all it was a fun morning. BTW, the weather was amazing! 50 degrees, sunny, and no wind.&nbsp;</p> Sat, 17 Nov 2018 07:00:00 Fri, Nov 16, 2018 http://Rhett.fastrunningblog.com/blog-11-16-2018.html <p>I kept it short with a few strides at the end so I will hopefully have some juice in my legs for tomorrow&#39;s 5K.</p> <p>3 miles.</p> Fri, 16 Nov 2018 07:00:00 Thu, Nov 15, 2018 http://Rhett.fastrunningblog.com/blog-11-15-2018.html <p>Trail run followed up by some strides, totalling 5 miles.&nbsp; It felt good getting my legs turning over quickly with strides.&nbsp;</p> Thu, 15 Nov 2018 07:00:00 Wed, Nov 14, 2018 http://Rhett.fastrunningblog.com/blog-11-14-2018.html <p>6 more miles on the trails. My legs felt like they had a little spring back in them today.&nbsp; The little post marathon aches and pains seem to be mostly gone.&nbsp; Hopefully that means I&#39;ll be able to run a decent 5k this Saturday.&nbsp;</p> Wed, 14 Nov 2018 07:00:00 Tue, Nov 13, 2018 http://Rhett.fastrunningblog.com/blog-11-13-2018.html <p>I got back out on the trails again this morning. &nbsp;My hammy had loosened up but the tightness moved to my knee. By the end of the run it was improved.</p> <p>6 fun easy miles.&nbsp;</p> Tue, 13 Nov 2018 07:00:00 Mon, Nov 12, 2018 http://Rhett.fastrunningblog.com/blog-11-12-2018.html <p>After taking a week off with no running or any real exercise, I was excited to get back out running this morning. I hit the trails for the first time since the snake incident about 6 months ago and just took it easy for 7 miles.&nbsp; My right hammy was still a bit tight from my marathon 8 days ago but otherwise my legs felt fine.&nbsp; I plan on rebuilding my cardio base with&nbsp;a lot of slow miles&nbsp;and a lot of that on trails for the next few months.</p> Mon, 12 Nov 2018 07:00:00